Crashdiet

How to write a song?

More
6 years 3 weeks ago - 6 years 3 weeks ago #155744 by Anna Gable
Anna Gable created the topic: How to write a song?
I've been asked to make a soundtrack to my novel, and the person doesn't give up, lol. But... I have no idea how you actually write a song. I make lyrics, I'm a writer, but... well...

So here's to all of you who make your own music: Please describe your process to give me some ideas in what end to start. I have a lot of melodies in my head, but no idea how to get them out, or if they're worth continuing on, some are of course only fragments. I guess several of you here make music, and that there are several ways to approach it, and that's why it would be great to hear how you do! I also know that the same songwriter can start in different ends, some start with a riff, some with a rythm and some with a melody etc, and that this can vary from song to song, but if you have several ways, well, please write them all down.

Here's what I know and what I have to work with:
*) Can play: I'm a singer (pretty experienced) and a bass player (still consider myself beginner, even if I guess it's okay), I can play chords on the guitar, but consider myself a beginner, I played the piano as a kid, so I know how it works, even if it's very rusty and I can play basic rythms on a cajun-drum.
*) Digital stuff: I have a good microphone, a good sound card (line6) a free recording programme (Audacity), and Garage Band for Mac (which I can't master, no matter how much I love my Mac, lol, so I don't know how to make a digital background with drum mashine etc).
*) Notes etc: I write and read notes and tabs.
*) Physical equipment: voice, the 3 octave piano on the line 6, 2 guitars (electric and acoustic), 4 basses (electric + threatless such and acoustic - not stand up, but guitar), a cajun-drum and an "egg". All but the egg can be directly lined in (voice via microphone)

PS Hmmm, where is the check box to get a mail if someone answers?